The Alien Phones Home

Mom? Can I come home today?
It’s Monday,
the center is closed.
Did I wake you?
I’m sorry.
Yeah the center is closed on Monday.
It’s a holiday.

Mom?
Do you have five dollars you can send me?
Your birthday’s on Wednesday?
Oh it’s on Thursday?
Happy
early Birthday.

Mom?
Do you think I could come home
tomorrow?
Stay the night tomorrow? Yeah
at five o’clock. Or six.
I don’t know.
Okay. Mom?

Will the mail run today?
I think the mail won’t
run today.
Maybe it will come
tomorrow. I’ve been out since Friday,
but I can wait till tomorrow.

What about Saturday?
Mom?
Could I come home
Saturday? Stay
the night on Saturday? That’s okay.
Yeah. Okay.

It’s going to be in the 30s today.
I think. 39 maybe. Cold.
Mom? You sound different.
I don’t know.
Maybe just tired right?
I woke you up I’m sorry I woke you up.
Okay. You can sleep.

Wait, Mom?
When can I come home?
I know. Yes.
I know.
Love you too.
Mom?

Leave a Reply

