Extending My Hand to Christians

You know better than most that the body rots
but the spirit continues.

You know better than most that it is the spirit
who loves and feels pain and longs for touch.

You know better than most that man looks on the outside
but God sees into the heart.

You know about humility and faith, hope and trust
in all that is good and kind and redemptive.

So I do not believe you when you say you can’t understand
how I can be a woman, when, as you say, I am clearly a man.

Do you really think I’m so stupid that I can’t see
my own body? Do you really think, when I say I’m a woman

that I’m talking about my body at all?
You know better than most that we are not our bodies.

We use them to express and respect our spirits.
But the body dies. The spirit lives. It lives

because it is the energy, the force that gives us life,
and energy, as we know, can’t be created,

and it can’t be destroyed.

Leave a Reply

