A Sonnet That Weeps

Had a good cry yesterday. The dog
cuddled up under my chin and the cat sunk
between my legs. The house was empty.
I turned on the TV to YouTube and listened to my music.

I cried. I kissed the dog. I don’t know
what I cried for. Maybe nothing.
Probably everything. And then, who can say why,
I dried up and went quiet and squeezed the dog.

Now, at work a day later
I caption calls for the deaf. I repeat the deaths
lawsuits, birthdays eye-rolling teenage girls,
and I nearly cry again. For something new.

An email that came between calls. From my mother.
“Look in the mirror” she writes “that’s who I love.”

Leave a Reply

